Club Handbook ~ Season 2018 - 19




Welcome to the 2018 - 2019 Season

Mike Halling

Mike Halling

Once again we have
had a very successful season with many achievements.
The 1st XV attained it’s highest position ever at 7th in the Northern Premiership placing us as one of the top Amateur teams in the Country. The 2nd XV
finished equal top with York in the Yorkshire Premiership then went on to win the Aire-Wharfe Cup for a third time in five years which included five finals. The 3rd XV were relegated back to the Aire-Wharfe League after a difficult season with player availability and having to compete against Club second teams in the Championship League.
Then having won the National Amateur Sevens Championship last summer we went on to win the Bowden, Caldy and Wetherby Sevens and reached the final at the Olney Sevens this summer, which gave us a place in the Regional Finals at West Park where we narrowly failed to get to the National Finals. We then went on to win our own Sevens Tournament which was an outstanding day in all departments.

The Sevens squad were awarded The Chairman’s Cup at the Club Dinner for this string of outstanding successes.
Well done to all the players for outstanding performances and thanks to our coaches and team management for making us one of the top amateur Clubs in the country.
Sadly we lose Nathan Smith, our 1st XV coach, as he is leaving the Club with our very best wishes to take on a coaching role at National 1 Loughborough Students and we thank him for his input and enthusiasm over his time with us at Ilkley.
We also say goodbye to Ben Magee, Jack Maplesden and Josh Hall who have moved to higher leagues and Tom Milner who is moving to London to work.
Recruitment is going well although it will be difficult to replace this quartet of quality backs.

All other rugby management positions remain the same apart from Fixture Secretary where Nigel Boot will be replaced by Malcolm Porter.
Furthermore John Oddy takes over as Treasurer, Richard Haddrill as Lunch Organiser and Nigel Keighley as Meet and Greet Organiser.
Ronald Obank retires after many roles in the Club over many year and we thank him for his sterling efforts for which he received a Special Long Service Award at the Volunteers Lunch along with Tony Griffiths who received the Long Service Award for his services as House Chairman.
The Club finances are in excellent shape and we now have in excess of £200k in the Capital Fund towards our Club Extension Project. Richard Scargill has launched the New Brick in the Wall Fund Raising initiative and a number of grant applications are currently being processed.
It was a big year for cash generation and we thank Rhys Morgan for his efforts in fund raising by introducing and promoting The Sevens Tournament, The Club Ball and the Sunday Late Lunches for which he was awarded The Presidents Cup. He will continue with this role as Special Events Organiser into the future. The Club Ball this year will be Saturday October 6th at Craiglands.
We completed a number of small projects in the year namely, a new mower, fence line repair on Middleton Avenue, a new container for Junior kit storage and we also have a hard standing Grass Crete project underway for improved parking between the 1st XV pitch and Denton Road.
The Committee has decided that the next big project after the Club Extension is to be a major drainage and irrigation improvement to the 1st XV pitch for which we have already started grant applications.
A big thank you goes to our Volunteers, without whom we could not survive, and our sponsors, especially our main sponsor Chris Chadwick of Airedale Chemicals, Gecco and La Casita, and finally John Barwick who I am pleased to say has agreed join our Club Committee this year.
Finally, THANKS to all of our supporters.

Enjoy your Rugby in 2018 – 19

Mike Halling